Why Cashiers (probably) Hate Coupons

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2011, 07:49 AM
is surfing AFC for the latest deals!

My Mood/Status:
RedStickGuy has posted more than 25 good deals
Walmart Why Cashiers (probably) hate coupons

I'm new to couponing....and these are the observations of a novice.

1) I read that cashiers @ WM are rated based on their checkout rate (among other metrics, obviously). So when there are coupons, the ones that are slow get slower and thus under more pressure. So they don't like it when there are people with coupons.
One way to help this situation is find a cashier who is fast at the checkout counter and accurate (don't want them skipping coupons stuck together)...but when you do find a fast one, please don't go around asking cashiers when they are working next...LOL

2) WM Managers are trying to beat coupon fraud. So they pressure on their cashiers to double check coupons. It is easy for communication to go wrong at this point and cashiers either misinterpret what management is trying to tell them, or the manager might not convey the corporate message properly to them. That results in hostile cashiers.....My advise, just take the items and go to another line...or abandon ship and go to another WM that day. There is no point in ruffling feathers and confronting cashiers and trying to educate them about their employer's coupon policy.

There might be a multitude of other reasons...I've never worked in retail...perhaps there are others who have and can throw some light on this issue...it will definitely help in discussing this.

ONLY MEANINGFUL CONTRIBUTIONS PLEASE!

Last edited by RedStickGuy; 06-12-2011 at 08:24 AM. Reason: correcting post
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to RedStickGuy For This Useful Post:
Become a AFC Supporting Member Today and Make These Ads Go Away!
Old 06-12-2011, 12:17 PM

RE: Why Cashiers (probably) hate coupons

My Mood/Status:
josyjozy has posted more than 25 good deals