New To Coupons And Feeling Discouraged...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2011, 07:06 PM
is surfing AFC for the latest deals!

Katanagari has posted more than 25 good deals
Help Sign New to coupons and feeling discouraged...

Hey there! I'm new to coupons (just started last weekend). At first I was excited and optimistic about saving money, but after a week of trying, I'm almost ready to give up. I started the week with some coupons that I was excited about, but most of them have turned out to be total duds.

I'm feeling pretty blue right now. I thought I could get some nice savings and a free thing or two, but almost everything I try has failed. Everyone online talks about easy it is to save tons of money with coupons, but so far I've just been disappointed. It's hard to find good coupons in the first place, since 95% seem to be for processed food that I don't eat...so I was excited to find what I thought were some bargains that I could use.

My failures:

-My favorite coupon was one for a free 16oz box of Purina cat food. YAY, free! The problem is that I can't find the 16oz box anywhere. I've looked at five stores already (one Kroger, one Target, two Walmarts, and a Petsmart), and they only have the big expensive bags. The free version is nowhere to be found. There are only two other stores I can check, and if they don't have it, the coupon will go to waste.

-I have $2 off any Visine product, and you're supposed to be able to use it to get a free trial size at Target. Except that my Target doesn't stock a trial size Visine.

-I have $10 off Crest whitestrips, and CVS is giving $10 in extra bucks on them this week. Which should be awesome--double savings! BUT, the coupon is only for the mega-expensive types of whitestrips, not the more affordable ones. Even after the $20 savings from the coupon and the extra bucks, they would be almost $40...which is way out of my price range.