Email From Safeway Sr Attny On Free Policy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2009, 10:45 PM
is surfing AFC for the latest deals!

oregonsand has posted more than 400 great deals!oregonsand has posted more than 400 great deals!oregonsand has posted more than 400 great deals!oregonsand has posted more than 400 great deals!oregonsand has posted more than 400 great deals!
Free Email from Safeway Sr Attny on Free Policy

I am brand new to your service as of today and am still trying to figure out the various abbreviations, but am still having a ball!

The only major grocery store here on the coast is a Safeway.
I can't tell you how many times I've found their "promotions" didn't work after I have checked out and/or sale items still ringing up at regular price.
Probably 2 out of 3 shopping trips this happens to me!
So after being made to wait another 10-15 min for the manager to once again refund the overcharges-I seached online to see what agency oversees grocery stores and ended up Emailing a complaint into the Department of Justice in my state.
They forwarded my complaint to Safeway legal staff-who sent me an Email saying that they are sorry, implied it was just a fluke and offered me a $25 gift certificate. I Emailed this senior counsel back telling him I saw the problem as ongoing and not just the occasional human error one would expect. I also told him it was odd that sale prices seemed to end promptly end but that they do begin with the same level of accuracy and that it was my belief that Safeway stood to profit by "occasional" errors.

The Email below is his response back.
What surprised me the most was the part of his response below that I put in bold.
My question for all of you is- has it been your experience that when an item has rung up incorrectly at a Safeway- that you were given that item for free?
Because that has never happened a single time to me at my local Safeway. According to him-it is the policy of all Safeway Stores. Thank you!