View Single Post
Old 06-04-2009, 12:14 AM

RE: Heartworms? Fleas? Help!

is surfing AFC for the latest deals!

My Mood/Status:
kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!kluered13 has posted more than 500 great deals! WOW!
Im a vet tech:
Heartworm and flea prevention should be used year round. Fleas can jump on you and travel in your house to your pet even in the winter. If you live in a region where the ground freezes and stays frozen for 30 days, then you can discontinue flea prevention until the ground begins to defrost and then it is back on the prevention. Heartworm year round whatever region you are in. Online pet pharmacies do not have contracts with the makers of flea products, its all purchased from "another" source so you don't know what you are paying for, it could be something different than what is stated on the box. If you pet becomes sick on these prevention meds, companies will not pay for vet treatment if it is found to be purchased online. Online product boxes and vet product boxes are different, so they will know if you bought it online. Also the medication in Advantix for dogs is dangerous in cats, which it can cause seizures and death. It is discouraged to use Advantix on a dog that comes in contact with any cats, its that deadly. OTC flea meds from the grocery store, etc, often cause seizures and death in cats and small dogs and usually don't work on a little bit bigger dogs.